Follow us on

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Flickr
  • RSS

Independent Foreign Fiction Prize 2014

1 November 2013 - 7:35am

A prestigious panel of judges has been announced including poet and academic Alev Adil, The Independent columnist, broadcaster and author Natalie Haynes, award-winning author Nadifa Mohamed, Literary Editor of The Independent Boyd Tonkin and literary translator Shaun Whiteside.
The Prize honours the best work of fiction by a living author, which has been translated into English from any other language and published in the United Kingdom. Uniquely, the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize gives the winning author and translator equal status: each receives £5,000.

First awarded in 1990 to Orhan Pamuk and translator Victoria Holbrook for The White Castle, the Prize ran until 1995 and was then revived in 2000 with the support of Arts Council England, who continue to fund the award.